• June 29th, 2022

Dr. Luoheng Han appointed as interim dean of the UA Honors College effective July 1.

Dr. Luoheng Han

Han currently serves as the senior associate provost for Academic Affairs and will serve in both roles until a new Honors College dean is hired. The University will begin a broad search for that position this fall.

“I am truly honored and excited to serve as interim dean of the Honors College. I look forward to working with our outstanding students, faculty and staff of the College,” said Han. “My goal is to continue the momentum led by Dean Williams in making the Honors College a hub for innovative teaching and learning that serves the entire campus, and to ensure a smooth transition to the new dean.”

“I have worked closely with Dr. Han on many occasions, and I know firsthand how much he values the Honors College and the transformative experiences that it provides students,” said Honors College Dean Tara Williams.  “I’m delighted that he will be bringing his excellent leadership and administrative skills to the Honors community as interim dean.” Williams, who has served as dean of the UA Honors College since March 2020, will be taking a new role as the dean of Barrett, The Honors College at Arizona State University.

Han joined UA in 1994 after earning a doctorate in geography from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. He was promoted to associate professor and tenured in 1999 and became a full professor in 2005. Han was appointed as chair of the geography department in 2007, and associate dean in the College of Arts and Sciences in 2009, and senior associate dean in 2013. He was named associate provost for Academic Affairs in 2017 and senior associate provost for Academic Affairs in 2021.

In his current position, Han receives direct reports from the Office of Disability Services, the Office of Institutional Effectiveness, the Office of University Registrar, and the Army ROTC and Airforce ROTC. In addition, he serves as chair of the Council of Assistant and Associate Deans, the Undergraduate Council and the Academic Program Review Council.